Concealed Carry Agreements

This page is under construction.

In 1995, the Pennsylvania General Assembly gave the Attorney General the authority to enter into reciprocity agreements with other states.

The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania currently has formal written reciprocity agreements with 19 states that recognize a valid license to carry firearms issued by Pennsylvania.  Conversely, Pennsylvania recognizes valid firearm carry licenses/permits from those states.  In addition to the 18 formal agreements, other forms of reciprocity are applicable.

Categories of Firearms Reciprocity – Under Pennsylvania law, there are six categories of firearms reciprocity status.

Category 1: States that have entered into written reciprocity agreements with Pennsylvania.  (Title 18 Pa.C.S.A. § 6109(k))

The following states have entered into formal written reciprocity agreements with Pennsylvania under section 6109(k) of the Uniform Firearms Act.  These agreements provide for reciprocal recognition of valid licenses/permits issued by both states.

A list of these states and links to their firearms laws is provided below, along with the text of the agreements:

Category 2: States that have statutory reciprocity under 6106(b)(15) of the Uniform Firearms Act.

The following states have been granted statutory reciprocity without a formal written agreement under 6106(b)(15), based on the determination of the Attorney General that the other state has granted reciprocity to Pennsylvania license holders, and that the other state’s laws governing firearms are similar.

  • Colorado
  • Iowa
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Montana
  • North Dakota – Effective August 1, 2013 only North Dakota Class I permits are recognized in Category 2.
  • Ohio
  • Wisconsin

Category 3: Unilateral reciprocity granted by another state for Pennsylvania license holders.

This category encompasses states which allow an individual issued a valid concealed firearm license from Pennsylvania to carry a firearm while in those respective states.

  • Alabama
  • Idaho

Category 4: Pennsylvanians may apply for a license/permit from another state (“Application states”).

  • Connecticut
  • Hawaii
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota
  • New Jersey
  • Washington

Category 5: Carry permitted without license/permit.

  • Alaska
  • Maine
  • Vermont

**Alaska and Vermont allows possession or carrying of a concealed firearm without a license/permit.

Category 6: State does not recognize or grant licenses/permits to individuals from another state, currently does not extend reciprocal privileges to Pennsylvania license holders, or has not indicated current status.

  • California
  • Delaware
  • Illinois
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • Oregon
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina

Please be aware that the information on this page is subject to change based on the most recent developments in the various states and territories.  If you are aware of changes in any of the information above, please contact the Office of Attorney General so that our information may be revised appropriately.  If you plan to travel to another state it is recommended that you contact the proper authority within that state in order to verify what, if any, additional requirements or restrictions apply under state or federal law.