
 
 

Home Improvement Contractor Registration Application Instructions 
 
Anyone who owns or operates a home improvement business or who offers, performs, or agrees to perform home improvements in 
Pennsylvania must register with the Office of Attorney General unless they are specifically exempted1 under Pennsylvania’s Home 
Improvement Consumer Protection Act (“HICPA”). Any home improvement contractors who are not registered will be prohibited 
from performing home improvements in Pennsylvania. 
 
Due to the anticipated volume of applications for registration of re-registration, contractors are encouraged to apply online for 
faster processing.  Apply online at https://hic.attorneygeneral.gov/login.aspx.  However, if you apply by mail, you should allow 
several weeks for processing once a completed application has been submitted. The processing of incomplete applications will delay 
registration. 
 
New applicants for registration will be issued a unique Pennsylvania Home Improvement Contractor number (PAHIC #). Re-
registration applicants will continue to use their previously issued registration number. This number must be included in all 
advertisements, contracts, estimates and proposals used by the registrant in Pennsylvania. 
 
Home improvement contractors must review HICPA and use contracts that comply with the requirements set forth in the law. 
Failure to comply with HICPA can lead to civil and criminal penalties; and, may result in your contract being voidable and 
unenforceable. 
 

 
General Instructions for Completing Pennsylvania’s 

Home Improvement Contractor Registration Application 
 
Please read the instructions for each section of the application before completing the application form. Please note that the 
pages may be double-sided. 
 
Please type your answers or print clearly in blue or black ink. 
 
You must complete each section of the application. If a question requests information that does not apply to you, please indicate 
that on the form (e.g., “not applicable” or N/A). 
 
You may attach additional pages to supply any information requested on the application form. Include the name of the applicant, 
whether an individual or a business entity, at the top of each additional page and indicate which section and question you are 
answering. 
 
A non-refundable fee of $50.00 (check or money order may payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania or the Office of 
Attorney General) must accompany your application. 
 
Incomplete applications will delay processing. 
 
The signed original application must be filed with the Office of Attorney General, Bureau of Consumer Protection, 15th Floor, 
Strawberry Square, ATTN: Home Improvement Contractor Registration, Harrisburg, PA 17120. 
 
Changes to the information submitted in the application can be made in writing to the address noted above; or online at 
www.attorneygeneral.gov. 

http://www.attorneygeneral.gov/


 
You can also file your application electronically by completing this form online at https://hic.attorneygeneral.gov/login.aspx.  
__________________ 
1 Under the Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act, individuals performing home improvements valued at less than $5,000 in a calendar 
year are not required to register. Home improvement retailers with a net worth of $50 million or more also do not need to register, however 
subcontractors and independent contractors performing home improvements for these retailers must be registered. 
 

Application Instructions 
 
 
Section A -  Form/Applicant Type 
 
Check the box indicating the form of  application you are submitting:  

• New Registration  
• Re-Registration or Update.  If you are re-registering or updating your current registration, provide your current PAHIC #. 

 
• Check the appropriate type  of application you are submitting:  If you are self-employed, a sole proprietorship, a 

subcontractor, or independent contractors, check “individual.” 
• If you are registering a corporation or other business entity, check the box that corresponds to the type of business. 

 
Section B – Applicant Information, Personal Information, and Shareholder/Equity Owner Information 
General information: 
 
 
If any person or business listed in the application operated a home improvement business in the past, the name(s) and address(es) 
of the business(es) must be listed in the application. 
 
Social Security Numbers and driver’s license information will not be publicly disclosed. 
 

Section B1 – Applicant Information (Individuals, Corporations, Limited Liability Companies, Limited 
Partnerships, General Partnerships and Joint Ventures) 
For applicants filing as “individual” under Section A, please provide your first and last name.  The name 
provided in this section will be the name that appears on your registration certificate.   
 
Fictitious names, d/b/a’s and trade names must be listed under Section C of the application.  These names 
should not be provided in Section B1.   
 
Each business must provide the name of the business’s primary contact person, and the additional 
business data listed.  
 
If a Federal Employer Identification Number has been issued, the number should be provided if 
applicable.   
 
Each business applicant must provide answers to the background information concerning the business. 
 
Section B2 – Personal Information 
Each individual, owner, officer, manager, partner, or party to a joint venture must provide their personal 
data and complete the personal background information.   
 
Fax numbers and e-mail addresses are optional; however, we can contact you more quickly if necessary if 
this information is provided.  
 
If the person does not have a driver’s license, the person must provide the number and issuing state of a 
state-issued identification card. Those without a driver’s license are required to submit a copy of their ID 
card with their application. 
 
 

https://hic.attorneygeneral.gov/login.aspx


In the event that a business has an ownership interest in the applicant, that business must provide their 
name, FEIN, address, and telephone number and related background information.   
 
Section B3 – Shareholder/Equity Owner Information 
Corporations, limited liability companies and limited partnerships must provide the names of all directors 
or parties holding a 5% or greater equity interest.   
 
Each shareholder/equity owner must complete the background information. 
 

Section C – Additional Business Names/Addresses 
If the applicant any fictitious names, d/b/a’s or trade names for the business that is being registered, provide those name(s). 
Pennsylvania law requires fictitious names to be registered with the Pennsylvania Department of State before those names may be 
used. Forms may be obtained online or by calling the Department of State Corporation Bureau at 1-888-659-9962.  
 
If the business operates at multiple locations, please provide the additional addresses in the spaces provided. 
 
Section D – Resident Agent (required for out-of-state businesses) 
This section applies to corporations, limited liability companies, and limited partnerships only.  A resident agent or registered office 
must be listed if your business is not based in Pennsylvania. This is the person/office authorized by your business to accept service of 
legal papers. 
 
Section E – Other Registrations or Licenses 
If the applicant is currently registered or licensed as a contractor in any other political subdivision, agency, municipality, state, or 
country, including a local or municipal registration or license, please complete this section, for each such license or registration. 
NOTE: HICPA requires you to report any disciplinary action related to such registration(s) or license(s) listed in this Section, to the 
Bureau of Consumer Protection, in writing, at the address noted above, within 90 days of final disposition. 
 
Section F – Description of Business 
Describe all goods and services offered or provided in Pennsylvania by the applicant. 
 
Section G - Insurance 
 

1. Insurance Policy Coverage 
Provide information regarding the applicant’s insurance coverage for bodily harm (personal injury) and property damage.  
If the required coverage is provided under more than one policy or by more than one insurer, please list each policy 
separately, attaching additional pages as necessary. 
NOTE: HICPA requires minimum coverage in the amount of at least $50,000 for bodily harm (personal injury) and at least 
$50,000 for property damage. 
 
2. Self-Insurance Coverage 
If you wish to register as self-insured, you must complete the Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act Self-Insurance 
Certificate of Coverage and Attestation and attach it to this application. The Bureau will require that every home 
improvement contractor who is self-insured include a statement in every home improvement contract that he/she is self-
insured, and provide the name, address, and telephone number of the organization providing the self-insurance. 
The Bureau may request additional information beyond the Certificate of Coverage and Attestation as deemed necessary. 

 
Section H – Certifications 
Read each statement and check each box to indicated that you have read and understand the requirements. 
 
Only an authorized party may sign the certification to certify that the information contained in the application is truthful and 
accurate.  The authorized party must print their name and title, then sign and date the certification.  
 
It is a crime to provide false or misleading information to this office. 
 
 
 
 



IN ORDER TO EXPEDITE THE ISSUANCE OF YOUR REGISTRATION CERTIFICATE, PLEASE REVIEW THIS CHECKLIST AND MAKE SURE 
YOUR APPLICATION CONTAINS ALL OF THE FOLLOWING: 
 

• The type of applicant or business (Section A) 
• The name, contact and background information for the applicant (Section B1) 
• Personal information for all individuals, owners, officers, managers, partners, and/or joint venture parties (Section B2) 
• Name and background for all directors and parties holding  a 5% or greater equity interest in the business (Section B3) 
• A list of any fictitious names, d/b/a’s or trade names and additional addresses used by the applicant (Section C) 
• The resident agent for out-of-state corporations, limited liability companies and limited partnership applicants (Section D) 
• A list of all home improvement registrations and licenses issued to the applicant in other states or countries, including 

federal local or municipal registration or licenses (Section E) 
• A description of the applicant’s business (Section F) 
• The applicant’s insurance information (Section G) 
• Certification signed and dated by an authorized party (Section H) 
• A check or money order in the amount of $50 payable to the Pennsylvania Office of Attorney General (application fees are 

not refundable) 
• Send your completed application and payment to: 

 
Office of Attorney General 
Bureau of Consumer Protection 
15th Floor, Strawberry Square 
Harrisburg, PA 17120 
ATTN: Home Improvement Contractor Registration 
 

 
For further information, copies of HICPA and Frequently Asked Questions 

visit www.attorneygeneral.gov or call 717-772-2425. 
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