To file a Do Not Call Complaint online, you must first verify that your phone number is registered, click here.
Unwanted telemarketing calls can be a nuisance and an intrusion to your privacy at home. Pennsylvania has joined a number of other states in passing a "Do Not Call" law, officially known as the Pennsylvania Telemarketer Registration Act. As a result, Pennsylvanians now have the option to eliminate many of these calls by placing their names on a statewide "Do Not Call" list. The Office of Attorney General provides a convenient Do Not Call online enrollment form, to make it quick and easy to sign up. Pennsylvania residents can also sign up for the National Do Not Call list, which is enforced by the Federal Trade Commission. Both the Pennsylvania and National Do Not Call programs allow you to register residential telephone and personal cell phone numbers, to reduce the number of unwanted calls you receive. The Office of Attorney General has contracted with a nonprofit organization that is responsible for maintaining the list of consumers who want to avoid telemarketing calls. The list administrator is responsible for updating the list and providing that list to telemarketers on a quarterly basis. Every telemarketer that calls consumers in Pennsylvania is required to purchase the list from the list administrator. The telemarketer must then remove every name on the "Do Not Call" list from their calling lists within 30 days of receiving the list. A violation of the law carries a civil penalty of up to $1,000, or $3,000 if the person contacted is age 60 or older. Complaints against a telemarketer in violation of this law should be filed with the Office of Attorney General's Bureau of Consumer Protection by calling the toll-free hotline at 1-800-441-2555, or by filing in a complaint. To file a complaint online, please verify that your phone number is registered by clicking here.
More News ›